About Me

Hey there, I'm Jen!

I'm 25, a student working on my masters in biotechnology, and a recent transplant to sunny San Diego.  An internship led me to this new town and I'm enjoying every minute of it.  I moved here with my boyfriend Shaun, a northern California native.

I was born and raised in Simi Valley, CA.  I got my BS in Biology at Cal Poly (SLO) and I'm missing that town all the time.  Apparently all the cities I've lived start with the letter 'S'.

I'm just your typical girl in her twenties.  I love to have fun and go out with friends, but I also love to spend nights in and watch movies and trashy tv.  I like to think I can hang with the boys because of my love for sports (viva los doyers, baby!).  I'm always down for happy hour and trying new things to eat.  I enjoy getting to explore this new-to-me city.  

When I'm not at work or in class, I love to bake and try new things in the kitchen.  I probably give away most of my baked goods rather than eating them myself, so I'm a good friend to have around.  I'm also getting more into cooking and trying to be more adventurous with my food (or as adventurous as a vegetarian pescitarian can be).  Crafting, in all different forms, is one of my main hobbies.  Sometimes I can just zone out in front of the tv and scrapbook the day away.  

I'm also trying to live a healthier lifestyle.  College really did a number on me, but luckily I've recently gotten back into running and love trying group exercise classes at the gym.  I ran throughout high school doing track and cross country, but it wasn't until late 2011 that I really started taking it back up again.  I completed my first half marathon in March 2012!
This blog is a place for me to share all the things going on in my life -- eating, baking, cooking, crafting, running, fun outtings.  Basically it's me in a nutshell.  Hope you enjoy!

Some important people:
 My momma and I

L-to-R:Me, sister Rebecca, Dad, brother Matthew, step mom Liz, step sister Laura, step brother John

My lover, Shaun and I (2010)

Shaun and I (2012)

The college roommates

 My fur baby, Katniss